St. Mary's County Government

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY



James R. Guy, President Michael R. Alderson, Jr., Commissioner Eric S. Colvin, Commissioner Michael L. Hewitt, Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow, Commissioner

SB 670 Unemployment Insurance Modernization Act of 2023

OPPOSE

March 14, 2023

The Honorable Senator Melony Griffith Senate Finance Committee Miller Senate Office Building, 3 East 11 Bladen St. Annapolis, Maryland 214013 East

Dear Chairman Griffith:

The Commissioners of St. Mary's County **OPPOSE** SB 670 Unemployment Insurance Modernization Act of 2023 which was heard in the Finance Committee.

We oppose SB 670 and urge an unfavorable report. We do not believe this legislation will benefit the citizens of St. Mary's County. We look forward to working with you on this and other initiatives throughout the session.

Sincerely,

COMMISSIONERS OF ST. MARY'S COUNTY

James Randy Guy, President

CSMC/AB/sf T:/Consent/2023/084

Cc: Senator Jack Bailey

Delegate Matthew Morgan

Delegate Todd Morgan Delegate Brian Crosby

Commissioner Mike Alderson, Jr.

Commissioner Eric Colvin

Commissioner Michael Hewitt

Commissioner Scott R. Ostrow

David Weiskopf, County Administrator

John Sterling Houser, Assistant County Attorney

P.O. BOX 653 * CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * 41770 BALDRIDGE ST., LEONARDTOWN, MD 20650 PHONE 301.475.4200 EXT. 71350 * FAX 301.475.4935 * www.stmarysmd.com * CSMC@STMARYSCOUNTYMD.GOV